An inspirational quote

Read this great quote today from Bryon Janis a famous pianist and fellow PsA sufferer:

“Arthritis has taught me to look inside myself for new sources of strength and creativity. It has given my life a new intensity. I have arthritis, but it does not have me.”

I like this message and I think it can apply to anyone who has a chronic condition of any kind. Sometimes you have to change the way you do things, but it makes you look at life from a different perspective …

4 thoughts on “An inspirational quote

  1. Hi Ellie,
    will be following you on Twitter but thought Id introduce myself properly here, I’m Alison Barton , I love riding always besotted with horses rode as a child and young woman but since having my daughter(22yrs ago!) and managing full time career riding dropped off big time. I had a stressful career and took retirement in 2008 after being diagnosed with ME/CFS depression and a range of debilitating symptons. Like your quote I refused to be defined by my condition and have tried with differing levels of success to get back on form. I moved to the Forest of Dean a year ago and love it. I started volunteering for the Forest riding for disabled in May and reconnected with Horses initially I ruled out me actually getting on a horse again and just wanted to concentrate on tacking up leading and helping our clients enjoy the horses. Then I thought I have just got to get on so I went to another stables and had a few(3) private lessons half an hour each. They were getting increasingly difficult though and on the third one my back went into spasm, Id felt it stiffening up and jarring a bit the week before, I had to cut the lesson short and felt quite bad an osteopath worked on it in two sessions and has done a lot of good with it. I walk my dogs everyday and have been advised to build up flexibility and strength through yoga etc.I really want to ride again now so will follow your progress and interested in any tips, I believe it will be a virtuous circle as I ride I will strengthen that weakness in my middle back and separate exercise will make riding easier. I’m a bit nervous about starting again I wish I could do ten minutes a day every day but its just not practicably Anyway there we are look forward to your blog and tweets. all the best to you and your progress and finding ways round things so you can make the absolute most of everything. Alison ,

    • HI Alison, I’m really pleased you will be with me on this journey. I had very similar feelings to you when I first began to ride again after my diagnosis. The only word I can think of to describe how I felt is fragile. It made me very afraid to really commit myself to my riding in case I fell, or was accidentally trodden on or squashed! Before my medication took effect, it hurt just to move, I didn’t want to think about what it would be like to hit the ground from on board a horse. It took me a while to get past that and I am still not really there if I’m honest. But I am determined and I am lucky enough to have 2 beautiful horses that I know will help me achieve my goals in the end. Keep up the work at the RDA, you will learn a lot from them and be inspired, I’m sure. And please keep me updated of your progress as you follow mine.

  2. Hi
    I too have PsA since May 2009 and am still coming to terms with the diagnosis. I cant and wont believe that at 40 my life is being restricted by this disease, I have 2 adorable boys of 7 and 4, the youngest has autism and speech delay and I wont let PsA ruin my life with them. I (perhaps foolishly) have decided not to take any drugs other than painkillers and hope like you to control the inflammation by diet. I know I’m probably losing the battle but mtx scares the living daylights out of me. I adore horses and rode and had ponies in my childhood, I miss terribly the companionship of horses. I cant ever ride again not because of the PsA but I have a seperated pubis bone courtesy of my last pregnancy but wish I had access to being around horses. You are very lucky your two look fantastic and I always wanted a dressage horse of my own as that was what I loved doing. Keep up the blog and more pictures of the horses please, Adele x

  3. Hi Adele, Thanks for joining me and others here. I understand completely how you feel about your PsA and the restrictions it puts on your life. And, like me, you are still so young and it is very hard to come to terms with such an acute loss of mobility. I was terrified about what the future would hold for me. But I reached the point where I realised I had to get past that. The future is uncertain, yes, but as the saying goes we must live for the moment. I respect your decision not to take any drugs. I too was concerned about starting on mtx and, although I was offered it in the July when first diagnosed, I didn’t actually pluck up the courage to take it until the November. Plus I was breastfeeding my baby and just didn’t feel ready to stop. I am very interested to know how successful you have been in managing the inflammation through diet? What changes have you made? Please post your thoughts and any recipe ideas on the Diet page if you wouldn’t mind. In the meantime, keep fighting – you have arthritis, it does NOT have you.

Leave a Reply

